(last updated 11/13/2019)
North Dakota Payday Loan Laws and Regulations in (ND)
Payday loans and cash advances are legal in North Dakota. The North Dakota Department of Financial Institutions has been regulating Payday Loans and Cash Advances since July 1st, 2001. As of 01/14/2015 there were 17 licensed lenders and 47 licensed locations in North Dakota.
The maximum payday loan allowed in North Dakota is $500. The maximum payday loan as a percentage of income is not specified. The number of loans that can be open at one time is not specified, but no more than $600 total in outstanding loans. The maximum permissible fees allowed in North Dakota is for a 14 day $100 loan: $20 maximum APR of %520. The cooling off or waiting period for obtaining another loan is 3 business days. The number of rollovers that are permitted is 1 (renewal fee not to exceed 20% of amount being renewed). The minimum loan term is not specified. The maximum loan term is 60 days.
This information is for informational purposes only. Although care has been taken to accurately describe the laws and regulations in North Dakota, no guarantees are implied or expressed about its accuracy. This is not legal advice. If you need legal advice, please consult an attorney or the North Dakota Department of Financial Institutions.
The following classes of lending organizations may be exempt from some, all, or none of the regulations and laws set by the state of North Dakota. Federally chartered banks, state chartered banks, credit unions and some entities organized under the laws of a sovereign nation (for example) a Native American Tribe or the country of Antigua