(last updated 11/13/2019)
Wisconsin Payday Loan Laws and Regulations in (WI)
Payday loans and cash advances are legal in Wisconsin. The Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions has been regulating Payday Loans and Cash Advances since May 18th, 2010. As of 09/17/2014 there were 36 licensed lenders and 330 licensed locations in Wisconsin.
The maximum payday loan allowed in Wisconsin is $1500 or 35% of gross monthly income. The maximum payday loan as a percentage of income is 35%. The number of loans that can be open at one time is not limited. The maximum permissible fees allowed in Wisconsin is not specified. The cooling off or waiting period for obtaining another loan is 24 hours after paying off a renewed loan days. The number of rollovers that are permitted is 1 renewal. The minimum loan term is 14 days. The maximum loan term is 90 days.
This information is for informational purposes only. Although care has been taken to accurately describe the laws and regulations in Wisconsin, no guarantees are implied or expressed about its accuracy. This is not legal advice. If you need legal advice, please consult an attorney or the Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions.
The following classes of lending organizations may be exempt from some, all, or none of the regulations and laws set by the state of Wisconsin. Federally chartered banks, state chartered banks, credit unions and some entities organized under the laws of a sovereign nation (for example) a Native American Tribe or the country of Antigua.