Alaska Personal Loan for Bad Credit Laws and Regulations in (AK)

(last updated 11/28/2017)
The Small Loan Rules at Alaska Statutes 06.20.010-920

Licensed small loan lenders, typically pawn shops and payday lenders, are allowed to charge higher rates:

(a) A licensee may lend any sum of money not exceeding $25,000 and may charge, contract for, and receive on the loan interest at a rate not exceeding three percent a month on that part of the unpaid principal balance of a loan not in excess of $850; two percent a month on the unpaid principal balance exceeding $850 but not exceeding $10,000; and at a rate agreed by contract on the remainder of any unpaid principal balance exceeding $10,000 but not exceeding $25,000.

(b) Notwithstanding the provisions of (a) of this section, a licensee who makes open-end loans under this chapter may charge, contract for, and receive interest at a rate not exceeding three percent a month on that part of the unpaid principal balance of a loan not in excess of $850; two percent a month on the unpaid principal balance exceeding $850 but not exceeding $10,000; and at a rate agreed by contract on the remainder of any unpaid principal balance exceeding $10,000 but not exceeding $25,000.

(c) Interest on loans under (b) of this section shall be computed according to the actuarial method on the entire unpaid principal balance as determined under AS 06.20.285 (b).


 
This information is for informational purposes only. Although care has been taken to accurately describe the laws and regulations in Alaska, no guarantees are implied or expressed about its accuracy. This is not legal advice. If you need legal advice, please consult an attorney or the Alaska Division of Banking and Securities.
 
The following classes of lending organizations may be exempt from some, all or none of the regulations and laws set by the state of Alaska. Federally chartered banks, state chartered banks, credit unions and some entities organized under the laws of a sovereign nation (for example) a Native American Tribe or the country of Antigua.


Alaska Personal Loan for Bad Credit Lending Regulator (AK)

Regulating Authority
Alaska Division of Banking and Securities
150 3rd Street, Suite 217
Juneau, AK 99801
1-888-925-2521
commerce.alaska.gov/dnn/dbs

Agency for Handling Complaints
Alaska Division of Banking and Securities
PO Box 110807
Juneau , AK 99811
1-888-925-2521
commerce.alaska.gov/dnn/dbs/ConsumerFinance.aspx

 

Alaska Loan Request Form

Preferred Amount
Preferred Term
Preferred Rate
Based on your entries above...
Amount
Financed
 

Total of
Payments
 
Loan
Term
 

Finance
Charges
 
Monthly Payment
 

 
APR
 

Related Alaska Loan Programs

Personal Loans in AK
$1,000 to $35,000 - Credit Score 650+
 
Small Business Loans in AK
For Bad to Excellent Credit. Flexible Terms.

Flag of the State of Alaska
 

Alaska Personal Loans for Bad Credit (AK) by City

Alaska Financial Counseling Information

If you feel that you may benefit from the services of a financial counselor, The Alaska Credit Counseling can be located at 341 West Tudor Road Suite 207 Anchorage, AK 99503 or by calling (877) 688-3328 services are not specified.