(last updated 02/06/2019)
Indiana Personal Loan for Bad Credit Laws and Regulations in (IN)
Indiana Uniform Consumer Credit Code ("UCCC"), IC 24-4.5
There is a law in Indiana which regulates how much you can be charged for credit, restricts what can happen to you if you pay late, and defines what information must be provided to you before you commit to any credit transaction. The name of that law is the Indiana Uniform Consumer Credit Code ("UCCC"), IC 24-4.5. Some of the UCCC's more important provisions are given below.
The following rates can be charged on credit sales or loans: 36 % on amounts financed up to $960,
plus 21 % on the portion of the amount financed from $960.01 to $3,200,
plus 15 % on the portion of the amount financed over $3,200; or 21%, whichever is greater.
This information is for informational purposes only. Although care has been taken to accurately describe the laws and regulations in Indiana, no guarantees are implied or expressed about its accuracy. This is not legal advice. If you need legal advice, please consult an attorney or the Indiana Department of Financial Institutions.
The following classes of lending organizations may be exempt from some, all, or none of the regulations and laws set by the state of Indiana. Federally chartered banks, state chartered banks, credit unions and some entities organized under the laws of a sovereign nation (for example) a Native American Tribe or the country of Antigua.